Med: Moving Day

July 19, 2007

Well, I’ve reached an important day in my trek to medical school–moving day!

This feels quite different than it did when I went away to college, mainly because I’m staying in the Chicago area. Going to college, I knew that I would be back to my parent’s house on every break in classes; however, now that I’m back in Chicago (where I intend on making my future home), my new apartment feels much more like “home” than North Carolina ever did. After tomorrow, I will officially consider myself moved out of my parent’s place for good. Plus, my old bedroom is being converted to an office for dad…so I’m out whether I like it or not. 🙂

I’m pretty excited about the new place–it’s a sweet apartment. Two bedrooms, two bath, SPACIOUS, and lots of natural light. Plus, we have on-site laundry, workout facilities, & pool. Now, being in Chicago, all of these characteristics also mean it is EXPENSIVE. It costs $1630/month (split between my roommate and myself). Luckily, I have a few things working in my favor.

a) UIC increases financial aid to account for rent that costs more than they allocate in the budget (to SOME extent…they will go up to $950).

b) It’s all on LOANS anyway…so I don’t worry about it til later. I suppose it’s a bit immature to say “whatever” (especially when i had to increase my loan amount for this apartmen), but…umm…whatever.

c) A huge chunk of my potential medical school debt was wiped out by a scholarship. I’ll talk about that more soon on a new post.

KurzMan…out.

PS. Check out the YouTube video below. It’s kinda dorky, but kinda funny. It’s about medical school, and can provide insight into my future life.

Leave a Reply

