Law: Memo

September 12, 2007

This week we got our first “mini memo” assignment.  For those of you that don’t know, memo’s are assignments that legal writing classes give that are the law school equivelent of when business teachers ask you to do a business plan.  In other words, its our chance to actually do real work!

 My first memo is a closed mini memo meaning that they provide the legal research and I am given a question.  I then have to put the research together into a useful legal memo.  My question is:  When does a fisherman take possession of a fish?  Actually the question is a little more specific (Did a specific fisherman take control before or after a specific point in time) but for all intents and purposes, I am supposed to figure out when a fish was possessed.  As boring as it sounds, its fun to actually be doing something a lawyer does instead of arguing theory and trying to follow a discussion with my head full!

 The memo is due Sunday, I have written my first draft and am editing now.  I’ll let you know when it gets done!

Leave a Reply

