Law: Jobs Jobs Jobs

November 22, 2007

Today started my attempt at getting somebody to pay me to do legal work this summer.  Ideally, I’ll find somebody to pay me well to put me through the summer associate dog and pony show.  In a perfect world, it would be a firm I wanted to start my career with.  But for a 1L with no major connections, that isn’t reality, no matter where you go to law school.

 With that in mind, I spent several hours the last few days proofreading my resume and writing cover letters.  I put together zillions and zillions of cover letters to send out, many customized, some not.  My plan is to mail them out on November 29th.  Hopefully I’ll land some interviews and with luck some of those interviews will magically turn into offers, but I’m not counting on it. 

Anyway, I have four cover letters left to write.  Unfortunately, I don’t have nearly the number of firms I want to mail, which means that in addition to writing more letters, I also need to find more firms to contact.  Joy.  Shouldn’t  be doing something more important right now?  Like, I don’t know… studying for finals? 

Anyway, if any readers out there have any connections to Chicago biglaw, please send them my way!

Hope everybody had a great Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

