Law: Can’t turn it off

November 26, 2007

I have noted a lot of changes in the things that pop into my head when talking with friends since I started attending law school.  In addition to seeing life as a walking tort and not being able to keep from hearing about peoples “Plans and schemes” and thinking “well I see problems with this and this” I also find myself wanting to ask questions that nobody knows or cares about.  Take for example this article which a friend sent my a few minutes ago.  I read the article and started to evaluate the claims based on what the article says (which seems reasonable given that it is about an intentional tort, something I actually have learned about).  But then, into my head jumped a stupid question:  I wonder what firm represented the school?  I dont know why this popped into my head, but whenever I hear about cases, this is always the first thing I think about.  Perhaps its an indication of my belief that lawyers have more impact on the outcome of litigation than they should, or perhaps its just a perverse part of applying for jobs, but either way, I do it all the time and it is just another example of how law school makes you think things you could never say without seeming like a wierdo to the general population.

Leave a Reply

