Med: The Post-Anatomy Burnout

December 3, 2007

I can’t do it. I just can’t.

I absolutely cannot get myself back into study mode.

In the two weeks leading up to the anatomy exam, I worked harder/studied more than I probably ever have in my entire life. I know that no one reading this wants to hear about rant about the difficulty/time commitment of medical school (‘Duh…what did you expect Kurz?’), but I am finding it RIDICULOUSLY hard to snap back into it for these last few weeks.

Let’s put it in perspective. During the month of November, I had four exams: 3 within the first week (Histology, Biochem, and Physiology), and then the massive anatomy semester exam right before Thanksgiving. So after those weeks of being completely stressed out, we get to go on Thanksgiving break and completely shut down. And then we’re supposed to come back, turn it back on, and chug-through until winter break.

But now we’re only in two classes: nutrition and physiology. And we only have two AM lectures/day–compare that to, say, our 9am-6pm anatomy lab days of just weeks ago. It feels like I’m already on vacation–a dangerous mindset.

3 exams still come between me and my cherished winter break: GI/Renal Physiology, Nutrition, and a Physiology Final.

If I can’t find a way to get motivated VERY quickly (tests are next week…), my performance is going to leave something to be desired.

UPDATE: The following comes from a classmate of mine regarding the topic above:

“I almost would have preferred not to have had extra time off for Thanksgiving – it sort of seems like we were running a marathon and about mile twenty decided it’d be a good idea to stop at mcdonalds to rest and eat.”

One Response to “Med: The Post-Anatomy Burnout”

  1. Ryann :) said

    You just have to. That’s all there is to it.

    Watch Aladdin–it changes lives. If Aladdin can make it from ‘street rat’ to ‘Prince Ali,’ you can make it from normal-guy-who-tells-girls-about-time-travel to Dr. Kurzer.

    Okay?

    Have a good one!

    Ryann

Leave a Reply

