Law: Apps out

December 5, 2007

Sorry everybody, I thought I posted this a few days ago, apparently not. 

Man, I feel like I’m back in undergrad again, except without all of the fun and with a lot more studying and class.  The end of my last Fall in undergrad was marked by applying to law schools.  Tons and tons of applications.  Resume, check.  Essays, check. Optional additional materials, sometimes check.  Seventeen applications later, I was done and relieved, just in time for the last few weeks of class which I of course had NO interest in.

I’m in the same boat again this year.  I just finished sending out about 50 applications for jobs at Chicago firms.  Do I think I will succeed?  I’m not holding my breath.  If I can get five interviews and a couple of offers, I’ll be thrilled beyond belief.  If I can get one offer that pays close to market, I’ll be happy.

Anyway, I sent my last chunk of applications (at least for a few weeks) yesterday.  For the last week, applying for jobs consumed my life.  I hope the time pays off, but we shall see.

Anyway, back on track.  Today I woke up for class, looked at the clock and went “nah” rolled over and back to bed, I just wasn’t motivated.   I have a memo due Sunday.  I spent a lot of time on it yesterday, but it is utter garbage.  Why?  Because I’m just not motivated.  Like Kurzman, I’ve got a massive case of the “blahs” that I cant shake.  Thankfully finals is after winter break, but then again, am I really going to study for finals as much as I should when I’m home?  I hope to god I do, but realistically, prolly not.

Leave a Reply

