Law: Boston Legal Relaxing

January 15, 2008

So I’m sitting here, post finals, relaxed as can be (until tomorrow when I return to the job search).  I was trying to think of something to do tonight when it hit me, Boston Legal is on.  I haven’t watched that show in weeks….. Basically since life started to suck which ironically, is also when I started to actually know something about the law.  With that in mind, I’m going to list all of the things I see in the show that seem wrong, just because I’m feeling obnoxious, starting with 20 minutes left in the show.

 

  1. At 9:39 a medical expert witness responds to a question by saying “possibly not with intent.”  No way on God’s green earth a court would allow a medical expert to offer a legal opinion.
  2. 9:42 – I just saw what I think was supposed to be a 12(b)(6) motion that discussed not a single matter of law, and mentioned only once that it is for the jury to decide.  Also, the motion seemed like it should have been heard in front of a committee on ethics. 
  3. 9:47 – Denny objected during a closing.
  4. 9:53 – “Hands” would have for sure been held in contempt of court
  5. 9:55 – A jury deliberating for less than 4 minutes…. On insanity…… of three counts ……. doubtful. 
  6. 9:57 – Nothing about whatever Denny would charge is reasonable, of that I am certain. 
Leave a Reply

