Med: Take a look inside…It’s my skull in a box

January 23, 2008

OK. In hindsight, perhaps I should have realized that my roommate would be weirded out by the fact that I have a human skull in the apartment right now.

I’m not talking about a cute little plastic model–it’s the real thing: loose teeth and all. I guess I’m just programmed to not think about these kinds of things anymore; after all, I spend 2 hours every Tuesday/Thursday in the anatomy lab dissecting a human cadaver. So imagine my surprise as the following conversation ensued hours ago with my roommate, having just returned from a trip to vegas.

Cow: Hey Kurzman, how you been focker?

KurzMan: Pretty good–just the usual med school grind. How was vegas?

Cow: It’s pretty nice…what the heck’s in that weird box?

Kurz: By my desk? A human skull and a couple of vertebrae.

Cow: You’ve gotta be shitting me.

Kurz: Nah, check it out. Open it up.

:::Opens box:::

Cow: WHAT THE FUCK! That’s messed up dude–they gave you skull models?

Kurz: Umm, I mean…kinda. It’s not really a model–it’s the real thing.

::::Shuts box::::

Cow: OK, I’ll talk to you later.

Sure, “normal” people aren’t used to seeing things like human skulls laying around in an apartment. But what was he expecting living with a medical student?

Leave a Reply

