Law: OCI Last Day, Part I

March 5, 2008

On the last day of OCI I once again scheduled an interview double header.  First up was a unique semi in house opportunity.  In this unique set-up, Citi parners with law firms to hire people that will become their future in house counsel.  The potential counselors spend three years at a law firm and then move to in house positions with Citi. 

The advantage is that the program sounds extremly interesting and provides a built in escape from big law.  The drawback is that you have to spend three years in the world’s most overrated city New York.

The interview did not go well.  The interviewer and I were not on the same page, we didn’t talk about anything interesting, and I was fairly bored.  If I was bored, I can only imagine how bored he must have been.

When the interview was over, the next student knocked, a fairly attractive (for HLS) blonde girl.  The interviewer opened the door, and my interview was over.  The short end was almost certainly for the better.  If I was him, I would have been more interesting in interviewing the blonde too.

 Still no work on this job, but if I were a betting man (which I sometimes am) I would wager almost anything that this interiew doesn’t lead to an offer for this summer.

Leave a Reply

