Law: Last OCI Post of 1L Year

March 8, 2008

This post marks the end of my travels through the less than thrilling OCI process.  My final interview was with an alum that is now a young partner in labor and employment with a solid mid-sized firm in a mid-sized city. 

 I thought the interview went well.  The partner and I share conservative leanings and talked a lot about Fed Soc/JLPP/other conservativeness.   We also chatted a little bit abut law school and made fun of Wounderboy a bunch. 

At the end of the interview, he asked if I wanted to meet him and the rest of the people he interviewed that day for lunch.  I went and we had a good time.  I think the interview went well and I left feeling like I would get a callback if he wasn’t obsessed with people that have a 100% connection to his city.

At lunch, the group had what I can only call a hilarious conversation in which the partner made a few jokes about the impact of the HLS name on others in a social environment.  Although the comments boardered on cocky, they were funny, totally acceptable given the crowd, and generally accurate. 

I really liked the partner I met with.  If I meet a handful of similar people, this firm could bea great fit.  That said, I still need to get over the location barrier with the firm.

Leave a Reply

