Med: Class Attendance Revisited

March 16, 2008

I did something this past week that I haven’t done since probably September–made it to every hour of scheduled class. While there weren’t any labs, we did still have afternoon lectures and/or working-group seminars, and the days started at 8:30am.

I know, I know–for most of you, this probably isn’t a big deal. Plenty of medical students have been MUCH better than me at class attendance. But in all honesty, I think I’ve turned a corner and will be in-class as often as possible–saving an “out” for clinical activities, etc. I’ve had this sentiment before–and it generally tends to follow exam weeks–but this is different (i.e., it didn’t fade by the end of the first week).

My friends are still understandably skeptical, but I really think it’s something that I’m going to keep up. In the past I’ve rationalized my class attendance by saying that “I’m not an oral learner,” but each time hearing and/or reading a lecture benefits the learning process more-and-more, and I need to stop making excuses for not waking up in the morning. This is PROFESSIONAL school, and at times I treat it like second-semester of senior year. This needs to stop.

Already after this week, I feel MUCH more comfortable with the material–mainly because I’m now learning the right way: Going to class, and also REVIEWING the material sometime shortly thereafter. Hopefully by doing a little bit along the way, I prevent massive streesful pre-exam cram sessions. Or, if I do have those, I’ll just be that much better off for the test.

The true test of my newfound class attendance will be over the next few weeks, with both histology and anatomy starting back up. But given that I NEVER went to histology AND that histology was by far my worst class, I need to make more of an effort. I just better have a lot of caffeine.

I really think I’m going to be able to do it now…so I really hope I don’t let myself down.

Leave a Reply

