Law: “Callback” 4, the home stretch

March 18, 2008

I’m done.  Finished.  No more callbacks.  No more interviews.  No more waking up at 5 AM to fly to some city half way across the country to interview then sitting in the hotel watching TV until and odd hour when I should be studying.  I fly home for Spring Break Friday and then, god willing, I wont have to get on a plane again until I fly home.  The only question now is where will I be working.

Anyway, Monday I had my final interview.  This was for a job with an elite firm in Chicago, needless to say I was thrilled (though EXTREMELY nervous).  I flew out Saturday, spent saturday and the first part of Sunday with my mother, then drove into the City.  I got to the hotel, unpacked, read about the firm, watched the NCAA selection show, did a fantasy baseball draft, then laid down and went to sleep.  Somewhere in there I jinxed myself by feeling a twinge of confidence.  After all, a friend had recommended me for this job, I thought they weren’t hiring and they sought me out.  That had to be a good sign, right?

Not so much.

The first interview was extremely blah.  The woman and I SHOULD have clicked, we just didn’t.  The next interview was one of the toughest interviews I’ve had yet.  I would assert something, he would disagree.  I asked some questions that he gave short answers to and the interview overall just didn’t go well.  The next interview was better.  We talked about some unique parts of the firm and I was finally comfortable.  The fourth interview was fantastic, one of the best interviews I have had.  The person was laid back, fun, and offered a lot of information about the firm and the nature of the practice.  Then I met with the only person from the firm I had met with before for a while and he talked me through the details of the program.  This was where the dreaded “we don’t know how much room we have” speech came and I got the distinct feeling tht this wasn’t the “come in and we’ll see if we like you” that I thought it would be, but rather was a case of “we are brining in several kids and will see if we are interested in hiring any of them and if so which ones we like the best.”  Darn. 

Lunch wasnt great but wasn’t bad.  We went somepace I had never heard of, I uneventfully got a hamburger and things didn’t go terribly but they didn’t go well.  We’ll see. 

I liked the firm and I liked the interview.  If I was going to rate the chances of getting an offer, I’d place them at 2 in 10.  I want to think it will happen since they talked a lot about making a quick decision, but I haven’t heard anything from them today and overall I didn’t get that “we really want you” feeling.  Thankfully, I recently got an offer I am excited about (more on that tomorrow). 

One Response to “Law: “Callback” 4, the home stretch”

  1. Excellent Blog. I’ve been reading along and just wanted to say hi. I will be reading more of your posts in the future.

    – Jason.

Leave a Reply

