Law: Employed

March 21, 2008

So, I have a job offer.  Actually, I was fortunate enough to land a few job offers after spending months freaking the hell out not being as calm and professional as I would have liked.

I was fortunate enough to recieve an offer on two of my four callbacks (hopefully I’ll up that percentge next year). 

The firm job offer I received was from the firm in Milwaukee where I did my first callback.  I am really excited about this place as I enjoyed most of the people I met.  As a bonus, it pays about $400 more a week than I thought it did (got to get my money before Obama takes it all). 

The other opportunity that I was extended is with the large financial corporation in New York.  Although I wish this was a different program, it was nice to know that they thought well of me (despite my not knowing what I was interviewing for).

I still haven’t heard back from the other two places I applied, but given the iron clad rule – no news is bad news – I would say it isn’t looking good.  The Chicago firm has been informed that I need to know by tomorrow, so we’ll see if they let me know.  Between the options I have on the table, I’m leaning VERY strongly towards the Milwaukee firm.  Nice people, not far from home, better pay, cheaper cost of living, and oh ya, SUPER interesting clients. 

If I got an offer in Chicago (which we all know is not happening at this point given the amount of time that has passed and the fact that they have already hired one HLS student) it would be a difficult choice.

Either way, I plan to decide by tomorrow or Monday.  When I know, I’ll let you all know.

Until then, I am once again packing for yet another day of wasting away at the airport where I have spend so much time I feel like I need to start paying rent flying which any loyal reader knows I hate hate hate.  With any luck, tomorrow I’ll be posting my job decision from my home.  If mother nature has her way, tomorrow I’ll either not be posting or posting from a lovely airport somewhere.

I hope everybody has a fantastic weekend!

One Response to “Law: Employed”

  1. Greg said

    Chris,

    Milwaukee is a great place if you’ve never been. I’d have to say it was one of the better of the small cities that I’ve ever visited, although there really are a lot of obama’s brethren asking for money around the “chicago” style pizza places.

    Speaking of obama, my early (or is it late?) on-set alzheimers grandmother refers to him as “Osama Barack” because she can’t remember his real name.

    Congrats on the offers,
    Greg

Leave a Reply

